Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Grip technique and strength

sean_stw

I am very heavily right hand dominant and also have a very strong grip (I'm an auto mechanic) and have always heard people say grip harder with non dominate hand and it should help with smoother trigger control and to not dropping my shots low like I do a bit of the time. I've been trying to loosen up my right hand grip some since I grip it pretty tight and grip a little bit harder with my left but is very hard habit for me to break, is there any kind of technique or training that would help me break this habit or is it just more practice? Thanks 

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I grip both hands firmly. One helpful thing that I’ve heard is that your strong hand should be gripping front to back, and your support hand is gripping side to side.  For me, this lets me grip both hands firmly but still maintain dexterity in my trigger finger.

3 hours ago, sean_stw said:

I am very heavily right hand dominant and also have a very strong grip (I'm an auto mechanic) and have always heard people say grip harder with non dominate hand and it should help with smoother trigger control and to not dropping my shots low like I do a bit of the time. I've been trying to loosen up my right hand grip some since I grip it pretty tight and grip a little bit harder with my left but is very hard habit for me to break, is there any kind of technique or training that would help me break this habit or is it just more practice? Thanks