Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to open

I’m brand new to open.have many to help local. Including a gm an a master. Got great deal on a 38 super Comp gun. Wanting to practice with blue bullets. Don’t want to screw up a brand new open gun. Please any that have done it an shoot matches with hi teck or blue Bullets an the concerns of doing it. Thanks 

Ive run BBI through my STI Watchmaster.  Smokey but they ran.  I have not tried them yet but seems like others have tried blue bullets with success.  From what I've heard they keep the barrel clean but may lead up the comp.

I haven’t shot either two but have put maybe 15-18k of eggleston thru my guns without any concern of issue to the gun.

This included a lot of 115gr at 175ish PF.  Smoke was no different for me with these but others may vary.

In my experience the difference with coated lead and jacketed is the ease of accuracy when reloading.  With jacketed you can get away with overcrimping the crap out of them withou a huge loss in accuracy. With coated lead it’s much easier to swage the bullet with to much crimp so that’s where most people screw up while using them.

to set crimp unscrew your crimp die until it doesn’t touch the round when the press is fully canned over. Then let the handle down just enough to feel a little pressure as you tighten the crimp die roughly an 1/8 turn. Check case gauge and push as hard as you can against a bench and measure OAL to see if there is any setback issues.

the biggest challenge with a lighter crimp is making sure your case length is pretty consistent as any change in length will change the amount of crimp on the round.  Manufacturers case length can vary so it’s really best to sort them by manufacturer and set the crimp as you load them in batches.

Just my experience but I had planned to only shoot them for practice but soon decided there was not point in loading different ammo for majors

As said above there is no real problem with coated