Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My son wants to get started

JGH

My 14 year old son wants to get started in pistol shooting competitions.  I am looking for recommendations in getting him started.  I am thinking about getting the Canik TP9SFX for him to start with in production.  I am looking for input on other options as well as other gear he would need.

I'm just getting started as well, so anyone more experienced please correct anything not totally correct, but the Canik comes with pretty much everything you need to start other than a sturdy belt and mag holsters.

A family member of mine has the Canik and seems to be having a little difficulty finding extra mags (since his only came with 2) at a decent price but your experience may be different.

As I understand, BARE MINIMUM is a sturdy belt, 3+ mags, mag holsters, and safety equipment (eyes and ears) are all that is really necessary.

I would use any of the equipment that you have around and get feedback from your son over the next couple months on what he does/doesn't like. The alternative is to go spend a few hundred dollars on things he may or may not like. 

Hope that helps!

Best thing you can do is take him to a match and talk to some of the other shooters. See what gear they have, what they like or don't like, etc. It can help you avoid buying items only to replace them later.

Alternatively, if you want to skip that step, go over to the ben stoeger pro shop and buy the package he promotes on the homepage. That's exactly what I use for production as well as many others in my local matches.

3 hours ago, HCH said:

Do you have a pistol that will work? If so, the first step you should take is to use it for a few matches, and upgrade from there.

+1.   Don't buy right away - as TrckCge mentioned, get to some matches and do some

observing - try some pistols - see what you like.

Many people will try to save a few hundred dollars on a pistol only to discover that the pistol is only