Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trung's Training Journal

itlogo

No time better than the present to start my training journal.

I've been shooting USPSA for about six years, and a casual shooter before that for just a couple more.  While you would think that I should be further along in my shooting, I think the first four years were sporadic involvement.  I started out strong, going to range days, dry fire, talking to shooters, watching videos, etc., but that lasted just a few months before I settled into a routine of about one or two matches a month, and hardly any practice.  It's only been in the last couple of years that I've really been motivated to get serious about improvement, much more so this past year.

I've taken a quite a few classes, and all have influenced me in my shooting one way or another.  The first one that I ever took was from Cha-Lee here in Colorado.  I didn't know what to expect leading up to it, but as is Cha-Lee's routine, he communicated a lot prior to the class (have you seen his diary??) on what to bring and expect of the class.  The main emphasis was that we weren't going to retain everything he was going to teach that same day--it's important to take copious notes!  After that, I attended both of Manny Bragg's intro and advanced classes, Bob Vogel, Paul Clark Jr, and JJ Racaza classes.  Throughout all of them, Cha-Lee's advice to take detailed notes stayed with me, and I still go back and review them today.