Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading in a compact space: my setup

MemphisMechanic

I haven’t seen anyone do this before. So. Here’s how I fit all of my reloading gear into the guest room closet:

I have been loading in the garage on a spacious workbench for ten years. I do a lot of welding and fab work so grinding dust and clutter and the humidity of a southern climate have always been concerns.

I decided to move my 650 / bulletfeeder / all the upgrades setup into the house. I built a very solid but ultra light and compact frame from 1” square tubing and a leftover section of angle iron. Two solidly braced legs and two 3” screws lagging it into the wall studs.

Ford blue engine paint matches the Dillon halfway decently (it’s a shade darker) and a red oak stairway plank from Home Depot got coated in polyurethane as the tabletop. My old bench was six legs made with 4x4 lumber and long drywall screws and is not nearly as solid as this.

Nothing flinches if you hang off the handle anymore: the old bench had some flex I didn’t notice until now.

Additionally I screwed a power strip to the wall next to the door that powers up my lighting and everything else with one flick. Added cheap compact shelving from HD that suited my space.

Added wall storage for grip trainers and my USPSA belt rigs. A 24” LED light provides a shocking amount of light in such a small, reflective space.

Table is 20” x 18” and the top is 36” from the floor. I’d prefer it to be 2” higher for my 6 foot tall height... but this gives me six inches between the top of the ceiling and the casefeeder.

I leave it permanently full now: I can walk in and just resume pulling the handle at any time. I’m trying to load ~50 rounds a day, which is 3-5 minutes of work work with the bulletfeeder added... so I’m never in need of ammo before a match.

Ford Blue engine paint from Autozone:

9DF9A17C-C3F7-4EF5-BAA4-7AEB1FCE5770.jpeg

Welded up and primed painted:

7B3BF928-7691-4B73-B1B3-65F57FF63240.jpeg