Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Blue Bullets undersized

ProfessorGascan

Greetings,

I've been lurking on this sight for a while(this forum in particular) as I'm new to reloading.

Anyway, I've bough at sample pack of 147gr RN 9mm bullets from Blue Bullets and as I was making a test round for oal I noticed that the bullet slipped into the case up to the ogive with just finger pressure. I tried it with an unflared case and it did the same thing, grabbed the calipers and checked bullet diameter, out of the 20 or so I measured I got 0.353-0.354.

I've loaded 1500 rounds of other bullet manufacturers and had no problems until now. Has anyone else gotten undersized bullets from BB?

Edited by ProfessorGascan
Measurement typo .333-.334 should be .353-.354

Perhaps you didn't re-size the case prior to trying to fit the bullet.

The case expands when fired.

.333"-.334" makes no sense for 9mm. 

Edited by TDA

38 minutes ago, TDA said:

Perhaps you didn't re-size the case prior to trying to fit the bullet.

The case expands when fired.

.333"-.334" makes no sense for 9mm. 

Diameter of bullet should be .355" or more.   Yikes, if they actually are .333".  

18 hours ago, jaques said:

So far, I have not had a problem with any of the ones I loaded. Hopefully it stays like that. 

This was not my experience. I experimented with the Blue's in my open gun just to see what would happen. I found the 115 grain bullet undersized and oversized and the weight was all over the place. My experiment also taught me that at over 1400 fps the coating would not stand up and got significant leading. Lesson learned with the Blue's.

20 hours ago, ProfessorGascan said:

Greetings,

I've been lurking on this sight for a while(this forum in particular) as I'm new to reloading.