Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open major loads- placebo or problems?

jtrump

So I worked up two loads with some powder I had on hands,  Gun is a STI DVC Open .38 -  Running Super Comp

The first being a 124g Precision Delta JHP, with 7.2g of Autocomp @ 1.235OAL-  171PF

The second load is 115g Precision Delta JHP with 10.8g of AA#7 @ 1.235 OAL- 172PF

I'm new to open and all, but christ sakes the dot is all over the place and the impulse into the palm of the hand is pretty sharp, feels like I'm catching a baseball bat.    Accuracy is great, and it runs after the extractor was tuned.

I was hoping the AA#7 was going to make more gas and feel much more flat than the WAC, but the dot is literally everywhere.

Also on Doubletaps/ controlled pairs my 2nd shot is always low,   the gun had an 8lb spring in it,  I replaced it with a brand new 8b Wolff spring, yet it's shorter than the spring that's been in the gun?   Brass ejection distance lessened a good bit.

Getting used to the dot takes a little time.

Since there is less muzzle movement, compared to a SS, might have a tendency to lighten up on your grip -

maintain a tight grip with your weak hand, and the practice - the dot will settle down if you do your part    :) 

You might be driving the gun down.

Some times when I switch from Limited/SS to open I find myself pushing the gun back down ( some say over controlling recoil etc)

Personally I find with the open gun to just let it run, not necessarily a looser or lighter grip just not driving the gun as much and letting the comp do the work.

Watch the dot on the trigger break it will usually tell you what your doing wrong with your grip.

Also as stated before there is a learning curve to shooting your open gun and getting the dot to track

Good fortune with open , "it additive"