Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best training techniques and resources for USPSA stage planning.

Hi there guys, I am relatively new to USPSA, and am looking for some resources to assist in stage planning. 

On the short courses, I am keeping up with top of the pack in my local matches, but in the more complex stages, making and executing a plan has been a bit harder than expected. I can clearly see stage planning in the upper echelons isn't a part of the game, it IS the game. 

Aside from just setting up courses and running them, what do you guys do to drill it ?

I've heard a lot of good things about Ben Stoeger's books on the subject, any other reading or viewing suggestions ?

Thanks for your time, have a great day.

Honestly, go to a GM that knows how to tech and take a class.  Not all GM’s can tech so 

Max Michel for anything with a dot 

Manny Bragg limited 

Shannon Smith open 

Ben Stoger Production 

mental Steve Anderson 

or any combo you like, 

this way I don’t show favorites. Lol

If you are a newbie then taking a class and doing what they suggest will be the best bang for your dollar. It will be fastest way to get to where you want to be or do it the hard way and make every mistake in the book over and over again than end up in a class kicking yourself for not doing it when you where a newbie.

All the best, 

Matt

Edited by a matt

Thanks Matt, thats likely good advice. I used to teach on the defensive side of things a bit, and I know its that way over there. And hell yes, being good at executing a plan, or performing under pressure has very little to do with being able to teach well.

I've been doing USPSA for about five months, so definitely still a bit green, I've yet to win an overall, annoyingly hanging around 2nd-3rd in limited shooting minor.

I will likely take a class from Stoeger when I am able, in the interim just looking for any training regimens, new ideas, or study resources that more experienced people are using.