Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder suggestions for my gun and application

KrymSIX

Went to the local shop to pick up some powder today and the number of options was a little overwhelming. The powders they had that I rember offhand that had load data that looked promising in the Lyman book the guy showed me there were 

Win 231, WSF, AutoComp 

Alliant Unique 

Hodgon TiteGroup 

Hi Skor 800x 

They also had powders from Accurate. 

They did not have n320 which i see gets rave reviews. 

Of these powders or any others you can think of that might be at a local shop would you recommend for my gun. SVI 2011 longslide w/ 6 inch Schuemann ultimatch barrel. Looking to make 40 Major. Press to be used will be a Hornady LnL. 

I'm intending to use 180 gr FMJs from Precision Delta. A little nervous about messing up plated bullets. Should I consider 200 gr or just stick to 180? 

I'm just getting into reloading so I've got some manuals on the way to me but figure it would be good to have some idea what powders would work best for me.

As always thanks guys, 

Alex

I also run a 6" limited gun

W231 and titegroup both work, and as far as bullets go, I'm using blue bullets 165gr

i tried 180, 185 and 200 both jacketed and coated, with those I felt like the gun cycled kinda sluggishly,  soft shooting but I was waiting for the sights to settle

with the 165s, the recoil seems harsher, but the gun snaps back on target quicker, 

Great to ask, and I'm sure you'll get some very specific personal favorites, but

you could go back into the archives here at BE and read about a year's worth

of personal favorites in a half hour    :)

I like the WW231 for 9mm and .45 (I don't shoot a .40) - guess it should be pretty good.

Again, 180's or 200's is strictly a personal opinion -  as you mentioned, you do have to

be a little more careful with the plated bullets - but if you're seating and crimping in