Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Thoughts on a Tanfoglio open gun

tyman1876

I'm considering purchasing a Tanfoglio Gold Custom Xtreme or Gold Team in the off season for next year.

I don't reload yet so being able to use it for Steel Challenge with factory loads at first, then switching barrels and the recoil spring to shoot 9 major when the time comes was a big selling point for me.

Does anyone have experience with this gun? Is it reliable? How does it shoot 9 minor loads? Is the Gold Custom worth the extra $1000 (after you factor in optic, mount, mags, etc) over the Gold Team? I realize there are more popular options as far as open guns go but I had the chance to hold a Gold Custom and really liked it. Is there anything I should know to talk me out of the purchase?

I'm new to open guns so any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

I had a Gold Team for a while in 38SC. Shot awesome, but took a ton more powder to make major due to the V12 porting. Parts are expensive and hard to come by. You can get the triggers pretty nice in the Tanfos, but never as nice as a 1911/2011. I am pretty sure the lack of parts in the USA and lack of competent gunsmiths to work on them is why you don't see them being used more often. I went back to the 2011 platform after a few matches and sold the Tanfo. 

Edited by scottlep

I had a Gold Team for a while in 38SC. Shot awesome, but took a ton more powder to make major due to the V12 porting. Parts are expensive and hard to come by. You can get the triggers pretty nice in the Tanfos, but never as nice as a 1911/2011. I am pretty sure the lack of parts in the USA and lack of competent gunsmiths to work on them is why you don't see them being used more often. I went back to the 2011 platform after a few matches and sold the Tanfo.