Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Advantages Limited vs Production?

JokerBravo

I am just curious what are the advantages or disadvantages between the two divisions?  I am just starting out and am leaning towards limited because you do not have to reload as much.

Cost. Production is cheaper unless you gotta have the newest, latest gun on the market. And, cheaper to shoot. If you shoot limited you need to be major PF which means .40 S&W. Production you just throw money away if you shoot other than 9mm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So...it of course depends on your goals for shooting. Simply fun,  get more comfortable with your gun, then shooting limited minor ($ issue GeneBray mentioned), stuff your mags & shoot away. Scoring point penalty shooting minor is big, but do you car at first?   Production is fun...good challenge to figure out reloads, amd everyone is scored minor. And usually lower cost of entry...glock 34/M&P Pro/Walther PPQ etc. and gtg.  Splurge for a CZ or a Tanfo if plastic isn't your flavor. Just shoot. Better Limited major shooters have pretty sweet 2011s...but what do you want? Enjoy.

5 hours ago, JokerBravo said:

what are the advantages or disadvantages between the two divisions? 

No big ads or disads.   Just personal preference.

I always suggest you start with whichever gun you currently own and feel the most

comfortable with - and that gun will usually dictate whether you shoot Prod or Ltd    :)

All up to you.

4 hours ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

No big ads or disads.   Just personal preference.

I always suggest you start with whichever gun you currently own and feel the most

comfortable with - and that gun will usually dictate whether you shoot Prod or Ltd    :)

All up to you.

+1 on this.

In most places these are the two most popular divisions with good reason. Most people start out in production because of the gun they already own. Like Jack said I'd shoot based on what you own and go from there.