Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Rifle patterns

Hammer002

Did anyone else feel the need to change Steel Challenge patterns when started shooting rifle?  I started with a pistol, SS.  For an example, I came to prefer shooting Accelerator 4,3,1,2,stop.  However, when I started shooting RFRO and now PCC, I don't like bringing the rifle across my chin from the center low ready on Accelerator after setting POA on the stop plate and leaving my eyes/head indexed on plate 4.  I find it far better to index on plate 1, allowing my eyes/head to remain there ready for the rifle to come up from low ready.  So I had to change the pattern to 1,2,4,3,stop.  Shot a 9.99 on it last sunday, but still looking to improve.  Wondering if there are others are better shot one way with a rifle and if so, are you guys changing to that pattern with the pistol too?  I kinda found the same with Roundabout and still feel lost on pendulum for top speeds.

Did anyone else feel the need to change Steel Challenge patterns when started shooting rifle?  I started with a pistol, SS.  For an example, I came to prefer shooting Accelerator 4,3,1,2,stop.  However, when I started shooting RFRO and now PCC, I don't like bringing the rifle across my chin from the center low ready on Accelerator after setting POA on the stop plate and leaving my eyes/head indexed on plate 4.  I find it far better to index on plate 1, allowing my eyes/head to remain there ready for the rifle to come up from low ready.  So I had to change the pattern to 1,2,4,3,stop.  Shot a 9.99 on it last sunday, but still looking to improve.  Wondering if there are others are better shot one way with a rifle and if so, are you guys changing to that pattern with the pistol too?  I kinda found the same with Roundabout and still feel lost on pendulum for top speeds.