Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.40 s&w mold for Schuemann barrel

Mushki25

I recently acquired a used SVI with a Schuemann barrel and would like any advice available on selecting a mold to cast for this gun.  I do not currently reload nor cast of .40 and will have to purchase what I need. I would like to stay away from aluminum molds unless everyone states otherwise because I have no experience with them and I feel they would be less durable. I will need to load these long for the function of the gun from advice of the guns first owner.  The rounds he threw in confirm he loaded them long as well but those are jacketed.  Thanks in advance for any help

Edited by Mushki25

I loaded a bunch of 180gr 40s with the Lee 6 cavity aluminum mold.  Sized to .401 and lubed with blue angel.

They ran great and were accurate in at least 3 limited guns.  The 6 cavity mold was hard to beat for production.  I did cool the sprue plate with a water soaked towel before I opened the mold.  Worked just fine.

39 minutes ago, technetium-99m said:

I loaded a bunch of 180gr 40s with the Lee 6 cavity aluminum mold.  Sized to .401 and lubed with blue angel.

They ran great and were accurate in at least 3 limited guns.  The 6 cavity mold was hard to beat for production.  I did cool the sprue plate with a water soaked towel before I opened the mold.  Worked just fine.

Would you care to share the load data?  Feel free to sub velocity for powder charge if you would be more comfortable sharing that way

• 3 weeks later...

The Lee bullets feed great (in tight chambers) but they fed horribly in my Mr. Bullet feeder. They are one of the few designs that would fall in and get stuck sideways. This was annoying to dislodge and required stopping the press and sometimes emptying the collator. If you do not use a bullet collator I don't see it as a problem and it is an excellent bullet, but I personally changed to a different profile.

Edited by Echd