Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

El Presidente Drill Critique

chenault

I've been doing USPSA for about 6 months now, have done two matches, so I'm pretty green; however, I've really been working on my foundation skills. I think I'm to the point where I know just enough to be dangerous to myself so I wanted a critique from some more experienced shooters of what they see in the video to work on.  Don't worry about being harsh, I'm serious about getting better.  I don't specifically want to know how to do better on this drill, just if you see things that are goofy or are wrong with my technique, especially my foundation skills. 

I'm actually not a fan of this drill, I think because it forces me to do skills I'm not always strong on, reload under pressure & fast transitions.  This is only my second time doing it so I think it should be a pretty honest showing of my skills.  I didn't pick and choose the videos so what you are seeing are the three runs I did, then I went on to work on other skills.  I filmed it from three different views to give three different looks at my technique. 

Temp-105 in the bay

Gun-CZ Shadow

Division-Production

Unranked

I'm not sure how to embed the videos into the post so I'll link them. The program I used is new and I matched the times up with what my timer showed.  

Run 1 had 11Alphas 1 Charlie.  Pretty smooth, didn't push it too much. 

Run 1

Run 2 I tried to push more and was happy that I again got 11 Alphas and 1 Charlie which always seems to be on the last target before my reload. 

Run 2

Run 3 I really tried to push it, but it wasn't smooth, I hit 3 charlies and 1 delta.  On top of that it was almost the same time as run 2

Run 3

Edited by chenault