Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Red Dot vs Bullseye vs Prima V

Wesquire

Running out of Bullseye and I'm trying to decide on the next powder to order. I've heard a lot of good things about Prima V, but I'm concerned that it seems the new batches are slower and maybe not as good. Bullseye has been fine for me, but it is quite dirty. Any suggestions? I've never used any clays, but should I consider that?

This is going to end up another sound-off thread where everyone just says what they use.

Bullseye is fantastic in 9mm, and .45, and .38, and... everything?  As to dirty, if you're anal about cleaning your pistols, then it doesn't matter how dirty the powder is.  And if you're NOT anal about cleaning your pistol, then all powders are dirty, and it still doesn't matter. ;)

Prima V is good powder, and it's cleaner than Bullseye, but it has not for me been as good as Bullseye.  I personally couldn't care less about cleanliness.  For me, (keep in mind I have no experience with the new batch(es), it is a good 9mm minor powder, but not worth leaving Bullseye for.

Alliant Sport Pistol -- If I wanted to replace Bullseye right now, I would be looking closely at Alliant Sport Pistol and at least giving it a trial run.  The data makes it look great for both 9mm minor and .40 major.  It burns clean.  And the one person I've seen who reported accuracy testing with it had excellent results.

American Select is my favorite 9mm minor powder that people rarely talk about.  Cleaner than Bullseye, and right there with Bullseye in accuracy.  

Edited by IDescribe

1 minute ago, mikeinctown said:

What are you shooting and where are you located? Might be some better stuff out there for what you are shooting and available without ordering.

9mm minor. Arkansas.