Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Consistent A's and C's on a classifier....

andrew1220

So I'm fairly new to USPSA (6th match last weekend and finally classified B in SS) and I had a question about the 99-10 classifier I shot last weekend. Time was 8.53 seconds. HF was 5.6272. 22nd out of 86 shooters for that stage. 

On each of the 6 targets, I had 1 hit at the center-top A zone and 1 hit at the bottom-center C zone. Very consistent but I'm wondering if this is indicator of me anticipating recoil, breaking the wrist up, jerking the trigger etc?? Thoughts?

FWIW, I'm shooting a DW Pointman 9, reloads are 147 gr blue bullets over 3 gr N320 which are about 132ish PF, and 11# recoil spring. 

Some stages (especially the plate racks!) I find myself trying to shoot too fast and I end up missing A LOT. I feel like my sight picture is good enough but it's possible I'm slapping the trigger or pulling the trigger before my sight picture is aligned. I also struggle with calming my nerves when I get up and load/make ready. Probably not much I can do about that until I have hundreds of matches under my belt. 

Anyway, just thought I'd see if you more experienced shooters have advice for a new USPSA shooter. 

Thanks!

Edited by andrew1220

Could be the wrong recoil spring strength.  Have a friend watch you do "double taps" and let you know where the second shot hits in relation to the first.  If the 2nd round is lower the spring is too strong and if the 2nd round is higher then the spring is too weak.

Good point. I originally had a 10# spring but noticed some peening on the impact abutment inside the frame which I thought was due to a light spring, so I bumped it to a 11#

Though it could have just been a worn spring not necessarily the wrong weight....

Maybe I could record myself and the targets to see where my shots are hitting when I do double taps.