Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking to get into shotshell reloading

Iaddrummer

I have been using MEC presses for about 25 years. Their progressive presses are simply superb. They don't show up on the used market often because they just run forever. 

Easy to find MEC single stage presses for about 1/2 of new retail. They are good, reliable tools. Just slow. 

Texan and Ponsness-Warren are older designs that come up often. Parts can be hard to find for them. 

I suggest saving up for a 9000G MEC or equivalent Green or Blue Machine. They are worth the cost. I've been told Green and Blue can be tedious to set up, but have no experience. MEC are gauge specific machines, so if you load all 4 gauges for skeet you will want at least 2 machines for the expensive small gauges. 12 and 20 gauge shells can be bought in bulk for less than you can buy component, unless you want a special load. 

Hope this helps

3 hours ago, practical_man said:

I have been using MEC presses for about 25 years. Their progressive presses are simply superb. They don't show up on the used market often because they just run forever. 

Easy to find MEC single stage presses for about 1/2 of new retail. They are good, reliable tools. Just slow. 

Texan and Ponsness-Warren are older designs that come up often. Parts can be hard to find for them. 

I suggest saving up for a 9000G MEC or equivalent Green or Blue Machine. They are worth the cost. I've been told Green and Blue can be tedious to set up, but have no experience. MEC are gauge specific machines, so if you load all 4 gauges for skeet you will want at least 2 machines for the expensive small gauges. 12 and 20 gauge shells can be bought in bulk for less than you can buy component, unless you want a special load. 

Hope this helps

Where can 12's Bought in bulk for less than components?

21 hours ago, Iaddrummer said:

Where can 12's Bought in bulk for less than components?