Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Were do I start

Jerrymarsh

I've been reloading for 50+ years, and just ran into the same

problem.

Found out that is is NECESSARY to look into Every Case before

you place the bullet - Every Time.    :ph34r:

I have 200 rounds of ammo I have to break down one day ....

Won't EVER make that mistake again.

Got a nice shiny light that attaches to the press, and it illuminates

the empty case with the powder in it - can't make a mistake again    :)  

Looks like job one is to determine reason for the squibs...  No powder, low powder, contamination, etc..  Until you do that your just going to be questioning your ammo at every match not to mention the safety issues if a round follows the squib..  Were these all really squibs of did they fail to go bang??  Big difference.....

1 hour ago, NoSteel said:

Looks like job one is to determine reason for the squibs...  No powder, low powder, contamination, etc..  Until you do that your just going to be questioning your ammo at every match not to mention the safety issues if a round follows the squib..  Were these all really squibs of did they fail to go bang??  Big difference.....

Biggest I found was getting in a hurry to load slowed down issue solved 

• 3 weeks later...
On 7/10/2017 at 4:29 AM, NoSteel said:

Looks like job one is to determine reason for the squibs...  No powder, low powder, contamination, etc..  .....

I've only ever had one squib, and am convinced it was contamination. I had cleaned my brass with water and detergent....

--------------------------

What powder are you using? I hear some powders measure better than others. I've never had that issue, having always used Vihtavuori powders through my lowly Dillon SDB.

Are you sure the measure is correctly installed on the press?

• 2 months later...

What press?

If you advance a 550 to soon, you'll get squibs. Short-stroking a 650 will do the same.