Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Back to Glock. I have a couple questions.

brianr34

About 5 years ago I started shooting handguns.  Glock was the first gun I bought and used in IDPA.  Since then, I have tried many different handguns.  Part of it was fun trying out different guns and I suppose I was looking for the perfect gun.  

Well, I decided to try Glock again and my plan is to not change this time.  I picked up a new G17 Black Vickers edition.  I really like the RTF2 texture.  This version does not seem quite as aggressive as the original fish gills version, but I still like it.  This version comes with the Wilson combat black U shape and gold bead front.   I have never used a U shape rear or a gold bead sight.  I think I will just remove those and sell them.  

Initial questions to set up my Glock.  

For sights, I was thinking about Dawsons since they have many options.  Their standard set is a 0.225 tall rear with a 0.205 tall front.   I like the idea of starting out with a shorter rear sight.   For ammo, I only use Blazer Brass 124gr.   If anyone has feedback on using this ammo with Dawsons, I would appreciate info on what you used to get POA=POI?

For my trigger setup, I am going to keep it fairly simple initially.  Going with polish job, Glock minus connector and reduced power firing pin block spring.   I want to keep the Glock reliability and would also prefer to keep the stock striker.  

With the Blazer ammo, would it be reasonable to go with the Wolf 5lb striker spring and still get 100% reliability?