Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Barrel Selection Help

Mikecatt13

I'm fairly new to 3 gun so I'm hoping to lean on those of you with more experience to aid me in selecting a barrel. Mostly needing advice on length, as I'm 99% sure I'm going to go with either a proof carbon fiber of BSF carbon fiber barrel. Just trying to decide on 16 vs 18in. Most of my local matches are 100-200 yds and under but obviously I'm spending a decent amount of money on this build and want to do it right once, so as I get into the sport and hopefully get better I'm guessing I will be shooting matches with longer ranges as well.

So I'm looking for the balance between weight, maneuverability, recoil control, and accuracy. All help is appreciated, especially as I'm hoping to take advantage of some 4th of July sales and get all my ordering done by the 5th before all the offers expire, might as well save some coin where I can!

3 hours ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

Not much advantage to an 18" barrel at 100-200 yards - the 16" has my nod    :) 

I definitely agree there. I guess my main purpose in asking for advice is i don't want to end up in a match with 300-400 yard or further targets and be kicking myself for picking the wrong $800 barrel/gas system length lol (and I have zero experience with competitive shooting at those ranges)

Length of the barrel gets you a different gas system, but won't (shouldn't) effect accuracy. The 16 will be shorter around walls and ports and a little lighter. The 18 with rifle gas may have a bit better recoil feel.

I think the consensus is that a muzzle break and adjustable gas have more impact on recoil than the gas system length

3 minutes ago, DesertTortoise said:

Length of the barrel gets you a different gas system, but won't (shouldn't) effect accuracy. The 16 will be shorter around walls and ports and a little lighter. The 18 with rifle gas may have a bit better recoil feel.
Get an adjustable gas block for either one tho