Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Time vs hits

GrayR

Alright guys Ive got the scoring question I'm sure has been asked but I didn't feel like threading through the 1,197 threads that popped up for the answer. I'm very new at this and I I was just wondering where hits vs time lies in a score. I ask because I was looking at the scoreboard from my first match and I was one of two open shooters. Over the course of the match he was 5.53 seconds faster than I was. I shot 116 As 2 Bs and 2 Cs. He shot 86 As 6 Bs 23 Cs 4 Ds 1 miss and 1 no shoot. Now im not griping that he beat me cause I had a hell of a lot of fun but I just as yet don't know where the scoring system is at in regards to speed vs hits. Can you guys that are good at speaking in laymans terms help me out? Thanks in advance!

Time vs. Hits = basic math.  A HF is determined by raw points (less any penalties) divided by the time.  Easiest way to think of it is you are scored on a "points per second" basis.  High (HF) score wins.  Hence, if the points are anywhere near close, the faster shooter wins.  The more the raw point spread is, the faster the less accurate shooter has to shoot in order to beat the slower more accurate shooter.

Trick is to find your best balance between the two in order to maximize your HF (points per second.)

Edited by Schutzenmeister

Maybe my math is wrong, but did you really average a 10.3 hit factor in your first match?!? :bow:

If you shot 596 points and he shot 538 (I'm assuming you both shot Major, otherwise it would be even more unbelievable), and his time was only 5.53 seconds faster, that would take some really fast times!

1 hour ago, kneelingatlas said:

Maybe my math is wrong, but did you really average a 10.3 hit factor in your first match?!? :bow:

How can you possibly derive an "overall" HF given the information in the OP?  He never stated his total time OR whether he (or his friend) were shooting Major or minor.

48 minutes ago, Schutzenmeister said: