Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Recoil System? JP SCS Gen 2 vs MBX PCC Buffer System

Sorry if this has been discussed before. With respect to setting up a PCC 9mm for USPSA matches, which recoil system do you prefer? Two that seem to have a following (successful?) are JP's Silent Capture GEN 2 (4 weights) with compatible BCG and MBX's PCC Buffer System. I'm new to this blow-back recoil challenge. I'm currently running a NFA upper/lower with JP trigger, Rock River BCG (I think, took from older carbine bought few years back and had milled for Glock mags), 16" Faxon barrel and have tried various buffer and spring combos and loads, which didn't really seem to have much of an effect. The gun runs excellent though, just a bit too much recoil for good doubles. Any advise is greatly appreciated.  I had a Faxon BCG on back order and canceled. Thinking of crying once and getting JP BCG and SCS system since I still need a BCG. Thanks!    

Edited by littlefish
add info
  • Replies 267
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello: I like the tune ability of the JP buffer. You can change springs and weights to get the perfect setup for your reloads. I do use the JP bolt as well with their buffer tuned to my load. I also have a regular setup Matrix bolt with a 223 spring and a 4.6oz buffer that works pretty well also with 147 grain bullets. The JP is quieter and is less distracting since you don't feel and hear the spring. Thanks, Eric

I ran my pcc for the first time today with the jp scs setup exactly as Eric's and I really like it. I was able to hit double taps within  2" groups at 40' many times over and over using 147gr bayou bullets loaded to 138pf. With the buffer in the stock form I couldn't get the doubles within 3 or probably even 4" at only 20' away. I'm anxious to see what I can do with my 130pf ammo (I didn't have it with me, I grabbed the wrong box)