Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fitting 2011 / 1911 slide to frame

I have been collecting all the bits for building 2011's for a while and I was about to order a set to do the first one completely on a mill. What are peoples opinions on clearance to start the slide onto the frame. Then do people have a target clearance other than slides without friction? I have seen a top gunsmith say he shoots for 0.002 in clearance for reliability and others swear by misc other numbers. Just trying to get a feel for the starting clearance ex: 0.0002 clearance to start? I know I will have to remove the slight scalping of the mill cutter to get a long lasting fit. Will probably end up using super fine stones to accomplish that. Not in a hurry to finish it, just want the best possible outcome. To the point where my final "polish" if there is a tight spot will be flitz.

The ones I have done needed around .005" to .009" removed from the bottom of the slide before it would start on the rails. Then about .003" to .006" off of the outside edges of the frame rails before it would slide on completely. I would tap it on with a plastic/nylon hammer, you wat it pretty tight at first. Then I would use lapping compound to smooth everything out. Use a new endmill as it will leave the best finish so you don't have too much work left to do by hand.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

Caspian slides will work on an STI 1911 frame, but generally not vice versa.

PP, IMO, the starting clearance should be an interference fit.  That is, the slide will go on, but it is tight enough that the pistol will not function.  Then use lapping compound to cut, or motor oil to burnish.

The clearances you end up with will be determined by what finish you plan on using.  If blued or something like black nitride, you need no more clearance than burnishing gets you.  You will need a little more if Ceracoating, and more yet if hard chroming or nickel finishing.