Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Down side to plated bullets?

Cherokeewind

I've been loading for many years, rifle and pistol.  Have loaded thousands of jacketed and cast/swaged bullets.

It seems that the price for good cast/swaged pistol bullets is about the same as for plated pistol bullets.  Why would I want to used cast or swaged rather than plated bullets?

Thanks,

Jim

Edit to add, primarily asking about .38/.357 and .44 bullets.

Edited by Cherokeewind

It depends on the accuracy you want.  I find that Dardas hard cast, lubed lead bullets shoot the best in my bullseye gun.  Zero 185 SWC swaged are also accurate.  I use plated bullets for all my competition loads.  IMO, Rainier makes the best plated bullets.

I have used Rainier in a couple 40 open guns with great results for more than 70,000 rounds. In fact, I remember a guy on this forum being confused as to why the Rainier .40 135 Grain bullets were more accurate than his MG 155 .40. Good bullets!

Once I found Coated Bullets there was no  going back.  All the advantages of plated but cheaper.  No lead on the hands to worry about and they shoot better than some of the  plated bullets I've tried.

Of the plated, I like Precision and Rainer.

7 hours ago, AzShooter said:

Once I found Coated Bullets there was no  going back.  All the advantages of plated but cheaper.  No lead on the hands to worry about and they shoot better than some of the  plated bullets I've tried.

Of the plated, I like Precision and Rainer.

When you say "Coated Bullets"  are you referring to a particular brand?

Thanks.

14 hours ago, Hi-Power Jack said:

Rainier may be The Best, but I've heard a lot of guns

will not shoot them accurately.  

You just have to try them in Your Gun ....  :) 

That may well be Jack.  They shoot extremely well in both my 40s- Limited and Open.  Same hole at 15 yards.  I can't say the same for the other plated I've tried.  My Limited gun also adores the Precision Bullets poly 180 RNFP.

57K,