Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

From holster to second shot

rondog

My question is what is typical good time to draw shoot 1 round reload shoot 1 round. I true this last night dry firing and it seemed terribly slow at a little over 4 sec. I've only been shooting maybe 1 gun match a month for the last 6-8 months so I'm really new to the game so go easy on me.

I would say somewhere sub 2 seconds would be decent. Im sure there are very good shooters that can do it way quicker. I cant say ive tried that exact drill and timed just that, but ill try it tonight and let you know what i get. Practice, practice, practice. My par times have come way down since dry firing, though i have a long way to go

Daniel K

You didn't give a yardage and I have never tried the exact drill, but here are some stats.

My normal for shooting doubles at 3 yards is 0.99 cold.

At 7 yards I can shoot doubles in around 1.3 cold.

At seven yards I can shoot a single around 1.10 cold.

My seven yard reload is around 1.25 cold.

If the ambient temp is really cold (below 50F - Texas boy) I can expect to see 0.10 - 0.15 increase in time.

So at seven yards, I should be able to do 2.3 and 2.5 seconds in live fire, cold. That is theoretical and also based on averages and all alpha's. I am sure I could pull a 2.teens on a "record" run and probably right at 2.0 with no regard for accuracy.

Jack is also spot on. For a beginner you are doing fine. Provided your holster and mag pouches are decent, you should be able to shave a solid second off your time with very little dry fire.

Here is Ben Stoeger running the FAST Drill with 3 different sets of gear to give you an idea of how your holster and mag pouches can affect you. But remember, once the gun is out of the holster, skill > gear.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTkjlKyPKqs