Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Building and AR for 3 Gun

Ponce

In the next few months I plan on building an AR for 3 gun. I am hoping for any input folks here would be willing to give on the various components. I have built AR's in the past. I am new to 3 gun and will just be shooting club events.

From a quality standpoint I am looking to build a reliable quality gun, however I don't plan on spending extra money because of a certain brand name or that it is the "in thing" right now. So in the end I will be looking for quality parts that add to the performance of the gun.

Any input would be greatly appreciated on the following list, companies, brands and especially specific parts. Thanks in advance.

1. Stripped lower

- lower components

- trigger

2. Stripped upper

- upper components

3. Barrel (5.56)

4. Compensator / brake

5. BCG

6. Stock

7. Buffer

8. Handguard

9. Optics

Any other input or information that could be helpful in choosing the parts for my build.

Find an upper receiver without a the hole for a forward assist or dust cover. That will cut down on some of the weight. Don't get billet receivers. Lower parts kits can be purchased without grip and triggers. You're going to change those anyway, so save some money there. Don't get an RRA NM trigger, they're designed for Service Rifle, not action shooting. I went with a POF trigger as they're relatively inexpensive and are good triggers.

Here are some things that I would choose for a 3-gun rifle without going crazy on cost:

Trigger - Either a Velocity 3lb drop-in or do this to a mil-spec trigger: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCPLe6FwNkQ

Brake/Comp - I just picked up an Ares Armor Effin-A MKII and it's fantastic! You can tune it to your gun/grip/stance/etc. Another solid option is the Miculek Comp. It's hard to beat for the price, I just like the tuneability of the Effin-A better.

Barrel - 223 Wylde chamber 1:7 or 1:8 twist. Mid length gas for 16" barrel, rifle gas for 18".