Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1911 slide lightening cuts = stress cracks?

alberic6

Hi guys,

I'm a machinist, working on building myself a 2011 longslide. Frame is a 2011 with the long dust cover, and the slide is an STI Unique 6". Since I've already read War & Peace, I want to do some lightening cuts on the slide to get the cycle time up.

I've got a full CNC machine shop to back me up, so I can do anything I want. The question is: what do I want?

In reading various forums, I've seen references to slide lightening cuts causing stress cracks. But very few of them have any references to which *types* of cuts, where, causing what sorts of cracks in what areas. So I'm asking here, as I figure you guys put enough cycles on your weapons that if anybody'd seen cracked slides, it'd be here.

The only specific reference I've seen was to the Brazos 'angled holes' cuts "always cracking". (Thread on 1911.com) That one really puzzles me, since they're *round*. If there was one cut I'd expect to be least likely to cause a stress riser, that'd be it. Anybody seen that failure?

Has anybody seen any *other* failures from slide lightening? Care to share?

Many thanks,

Brian

I have seen some stress cracks in the ejection port area and at the front of the slide where the rail is tapered. The ejection port ones are not usually caused be lightening since you generally do not want to cut weight out of that area. Now the other location is where the frame rails hit at the end of the stroke so it takes a beating so would stay clear of that area. Also try not to cut into the rail area of the slide, this will weaken it considerably and cause cracks down the road. The ones I have cut were cut on top, tri topped or slotted length wise on the sides. These are in my opinion the safest cut options. Of course if you can do the work yourself then it really isn't that big of a deal, when it cracks just buy another slide, cut and fit it.

Brian,