Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best Way to Sling a Rifle Where Significant Movement is Required

I have a stage this Saturday that will start with 12 or more shotgun targets. The rifle will be slung at the start. After finishing the shotgun targets the shotgun is grounded and we are going to run, climb a ladder (probably) onto a shipping container, and engage long range targets with the rifle.

I am still pretty new to 3 gun. I have slung the rifle in front muzzle down (not good for a lot of movement) and behind the back muzzle up. I was watching some video from the Hard as Hell Match and a competitor had his rifle slung behind the back muzzle down.

Is there any conventional wisdom on this issue? I believe the rifle will be unloaded.

Thank you in advance!

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am right handed so my Handgun is holster R-hip. That is important to keep in mind. Slings and handguns can interact in a way that ends your match prematurely.

I use a v-tac 2 point sling. For stages with a lot of movement, sling muzzle up over Right shoulder, sling across chest, cinch it up tight. I can run, crawl, get up and down from low positions, whatever.

For less movement, I sling muzzle down, behind back, butt stock at R-shoulder.

For just standing in one place or very little movement, muzzle down in front, buttstock at R-shoulder.

Edited by Lead-Head

Sling up and run around in the garage wearing your 3 gun gear until you find a method that works for you. Then mark your sling with a sharpie or tape it where you like it with hockey tape. A sling is a personal thing.

I would generally carry muzzle up for "extended" carry. If I squat down to do something... muzzle up carry => the buttstock hits the ground ... muzzle down carry => the muzzle (potentially) hits the ground.

Front carry generally means I'm going to be using the rifle relatively soon. So muzzle down for me when I front carry.

• 2 months later...