Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting lost in stages / having to think too much about where to go.

LeviSS

I just started shooting IDPA, and have 5 or 6 matches under my belt. Our matches are once a month. I plan on eventually shooting USPSA.

My problem is the buzzer going off, getting overwhelmed, and having to think about the order in which to shoot it. Tactical priority seems to give me trouble...if i mess it up, I just don't realize at the time that I shot the targets out of order.

Is this something that gets better/easier with experience?

How can I better prepare myself mentally for stages instead of going blank and on auto-pilot or having to pause and think?

I've been in the top 5 shooters every time, but I feel like if I could get the mental part improved, I'd be able to be significantly faster. Procedural errors and stutters have cost me stages.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I know in IDPA they tell you where to go and the order to shoot, but I feel like even in USPSA you need to have a plan and stick to it. I think I'd have some of the same problems.

Edited by LeviSS

Do you close your eyes for a few minutes leading up to your turn and visualize your run from start to finish at exactly the realistic pace you'd like to run it? Once you have the entire stage memorized and you've mentally already shot it ten times in the last five minutes, shooting it for real is just like watching a movie you've already seen, you just have to move this time.

Oh yeah... USPSA

I have a hard time really being able to visualize it. I've tried, but its not been very helpful yet.

When you guys visualize is it as you'd see it through your eyes or like you're watching yourself do it?

visualize, visualize, visualize ......

when there are 3 shooters in front of you it's time to go into match mode ....no more BSing with your buddies or staring at the 20 something in the shorty shorts or washing your pencils ....