Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

1911 help

tcazes

So I'm new to 1911 ownership. Not shooting them just ownership. I have acquired a rock island tac II full size 9mm and have a few questions

How wet do 1911s generally run? I run just enough lube to get a light coating on the feed rails of my g34 and that's it. Do 1911s run generally wet? If so what are the main places to lube?

Magazines

It seems there are a million threads on tuning and springs and followers and bend this polish that round of this etc threads. What magazines should I look into getting ti start with? Willson? Tripp? I shoot idpa so 10rnd would be optimal but I want utmost reliability since it is also my edc.

Other than magazine headaches there doesn't seem to be many other issues with 1911s. I read the frequently asked thread about recoil springs and recoil buffers and have a generally understanding there. Really the only thing I want for my gun, besides reliable mags is an extended slide release so I can drop the slide with my thumb.

Thanks in advance!

More metal on metal in a 1911 so there are more areas to lubricate,and not overly too much just spreads the gunk around.

Mags you can not go wrong with those 3,my experience with Wilson's and plastic follower though do not go together well with sand.

Lube the rails with a drop on each side, put a drop each on the lugs on top and bottom of the barrel and reassemble. Then, with the unloaded gun closed, go to the ejection port and put one small drop of oil at the rear of the barrel and another at the front. Then open the gun, lock the slide back and put one drop on the front of the barrel. Cycle the gun a few times and go shoot it. That's just seven small drops for the whole gun.

Got a Springfield 9mm Loaded runs Metalform 10 round mags with zero issues. Same tubes as Dawson, but about $10.00 cheaper. Which would make no difference if they didn't work, but they do so it's a win-win.