Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Has anyone gotten worse?

kcult

Please bear with me as I piss and moan about my perceived deterioration of skills in a relatively short amount of time.

I have been shooting for over 30 years, but it has always been plinking, shooting at bottles, cans and other assorted garbage. The pistol I ended up shooting the most was a Browning Hi Power. I know that gun like the back of my hand. My BHP is satin nickel with an adjustable rear sight. The sights were also satin nickel, but that didn’t seem to be a problem.

I was talked into shooting at the local, unsanctioned match. I did and was hooked. There were two or three guys that were always on top after scoring, but for the rest of us (other enthusiasts that were mostly coworkers,) I was typically the one to beat. Well, because I didn’t want to subject that gun to the rough and tumble that was run and gun, I opted for a Glock Gen 4 model 17. I was still the one to beat.

I joined USPSA and started attending matches where the big boys and robots play. I would usually place below half way on the score card, but accepted that I was a little fish in a big pond, the opposite of the outlaw match. But something else was happening. The friends that I would beat on a regular basis were catching up to me at the outlaw match. It seemed like the more I shot, the worse I got. A couple of them even asked me what was going on. I couldn’t explain it. I just wasn’t hitting my targets like I used to. I made another change. I moved from the G17 to a Gen 3 G35. I didn’t want to give up points shooting Minor. All the while, I was getting even worse. I shot in a classifier this past Saturday and finished last in Limited in several stages. I did have a couple of snafus with mags, but the biggest problem was not hitting the target.