Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

This one is for all 9mm open shooters

a matt

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I started shooting USPSA in 2012. I ordered a 9-Major open gun from Bobby at Freedom Gunworks in Nov 2011, received it in March 2012, and made master with it during the summer. The gun has never malfunctioned on me during a match. The few malfunctions I had at the beginning were my fault. The gun now runs 115 JHPs from STI, old SVI, and new SVI magazines without a problem.

Would I like to have a 38SC gun?.....of course! Do I think the 9-Major gun is holding me back?...not at all

I have a 9 Major built by Predator Tactical and have been nothing but happy, gun runs flawless. It is my first open gun and have been very happy with the performance. i did choose 9 for the availability of components.

I have two TruBors - both 9mm major.

The one I had tuned by Brazos runs 100% with MY reloads :surprise: On

a Square Deal.. :ph34r:

When the springs or mags needed tweaking, it doesn't run - when I

change them, it runs 100% again.

The TruBor I had tuned by Dawson isn't quite so lucky ... :sight:

Who builds the most reliable 9mm open?

I could tell you my answer, but I'd be biased ;)

No such concerns here! Matt Cheely built my gun in 9MAJOR and it runs every bit as good or better than any gun out there. As a matter of fact when I read about 9MAJOR issues with ejection, etc all I can do is take their word for it because I just have not experienced any of the perceived drawbacks. I run a traditional upright mount which is supposed to be near impossible with the 9's and it is an absolute non issue. Matt has either perfected the art of taming the 9mm or the problems never really existed. ;)