Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

40 caliber STI Trojan

bthoefer

I'm thinking of getting a Trojan in 40 caliber to start shooting single stack after GA State USPSA match next month. I will be buying new since I work part time at a local range. I am pretty new to the 1911 platform so what else do I need to get up and running for Single Stack? How well are the Trojans set up, should I plan on changing springs out of the box or just run with it? I do not currently reload, so I am planning on shooting Atlanta Arms ammo. I was recommended to stick with 40 cal mags and they would feed fine, anyone have any recommendations for mags?

Things I think I need recommendations on are

Mags

Springs (maybe)

Mag well (not sure which one)

Anything else I'm missing ?

Thanks in advance

Bryan

Edited by bthoefer

Any reason for 40? I only say this because 40 is very finicky, not only in feeding, but mags are a issue also. Since you don't reload i think 45 might be a better choice. But check out the Dawson ice magwell, ext firing pin,ext mag release. You may want a trigger job. That should do it.

Don't try and shoot IDPA with it using 9rd mags and you will be fine. I have one and it runs great with the factory mags with factory length ammo. If you do plan to shoot some IDPA and want to use 9rd mags, you will have to reload and load long for reliability or just send the gun to Vigil Tripp and have him work his magic on it, only down sideto that is you will end up with a chamber that does not fully support the case. As for mags the Metal Form work great 8 rounders, magwell-Dawson or the Tech-well. Good Luck

I agree with both of the previous posts, very finicky in .40. I primarly use mine for ESP in IDPGAY matches, I find that the 9+1 is an advantage at most of the matches I shoot.