Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Drop a mag at the wrong time

FullThr0ttle21

So I'm new to this sigte and shooting sports in general. I've been shooting for just over a year and sport shooting for only 3 months now (2 matches 3 practices)

at yesterdays match I was shooting singel stace and after taking on 8 steel with and 8 round mag I dropped it reloaded it to engage3 a paper target and shot twice dropped the mag to reload (while moving to a port hole) and dident seat the mag fully got a shot off then it fell out. reached for my last mag (middle of my back) and had to load ,rack, and fire 3 times. wasted close to 10sec and got an A,C and A,A . this 10 sec still haunts me because during all this loading dropping reloading the RO was asking if i was dont to show clear and kept saying "i'm not done yet" ,"no still hot" stuff like that it got me reall frazzled. worst thing is I dident have to reload >_< DoH!

Don't feel bad, the first tac rifle match i shot, I heard the beep, went to engage my first target and realized I forgot to take the safety off. While frantically trying to find it, I managed to hit the mag release on my AR.

So I'm new to this sigte and shooting sports in general. I've been shooting for just over a year and sport shooting for only 3 months now (2 matches 3 practices)

Just part of the learning curve. It will get better with practice and experience.

Give it a few years. Then when you do the same darn thing at the wrong darn time, see if you feel any different. (You won't.)

I've been shooting USPSA for over 25 years and it seems like every once in a while I make a mistake even a newbie wouldn't. I think the technical term is Brain Fart.

Bill