Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

draw and split times - USPSA prodution

Thomas Amoroso

Hi folks. I started shooting at USPSA events earlier this summer and have been having a great time, trying to learn something new and improve at each match. Recently I have started working with a training partner timing ourselves and I am consistently at about a 1.9s draw to first shot, and consistenly around a .21/.22 split between shots. I tried a number of different scnearios - and a couple of times just going balls-out as fast as I can - but my splits dont seem to change, just my accuracy... I hope to get out a few more times this year for some additional practice, and then dry-fire and draw practice indoors this winter. I'm open to any advice or comments, but one question I have is at this stage in my progress, is focussing on speed the right thing given the times I have today (although I can see from other posts that a 1.9 definately has room for improvement). Regarding accuracy, these timing tests have been at around 12 to 15 yards on my right while walking a straight line down the target line (something I need a lot of work on)...

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom

Tom Amoroso

Disciplined focus on the front sight, calling your shots, and racking up points is far more important to the game than draw times or splits. I would work on those first, speed will come as a natural byproduct of mastery.

How fast you can shoot doesn't matter. How fast you can shoot A's matters.

Don't forget reloads, too. They are just as important, if not more, than draws - especially in Production.

Good luck!