Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

N320

dugout

I'm new to N320 and setting up a major load. I am not new to loading or 40S&W.

This is what I have;

Rem brass, WSR primer, MG 180gJHP, LOA 1.185, crimp .420, KART 5", P16-40

Chrono is a three screen Ohler 35, covered and artificially lit.

Scales are two Lyman balance scales with check weights.

4.7g 948fps avg, 10 rounds all within 8fps, 170 PF

4.8g 958fps avg, 10 within 11fps, 172PF

4.9g 985fps avg, 10 within 16fps, 177PF

Temp was 62 F, low humidity

I certainly go by the data and not preconceived ideas but this is such a universal load and everyone seems to be a couple tenths higher to make major. I don't want to show up and chrono minor either?!?!? Coming from WSF this is all new. 4.7g was my start load? Should I try 4.6g?

What do you think?

i agree..

shoot for some where between 170 and 175..

shooting under 170 is just not enough reward for the risk..

at least in my opinion..

cheers,

Los.

Well, I'm there at 4.7g. I just expected to need 4.9g or 5.0g to be at 170PF loaded out at 1.185, and as you say, I don't want to show up short!

i agree..

shoot for some where between 170 and 175..

shooting under 170 is just not enough reward for the risk..

at least in my opinion..

cheers,

Los.

Well, I'm there at 4.7g. I just expected to need 4.9g or 5.0g to be at 170PF loaded out at 1.185, and as you say, I don't want to show up short!

i see, i had a similar experience with loading for 45 acp for single tack.. it's all about what your barrel likes..

anyway i think you should blast away with 4.8 at 172, but I'm pretty conservative :)

good luck!

cheers,

Los.