Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

According to Bear Bryant

doc540

"It's not the will to win that matters. Everyone has that. It's the will to prepare to win that makes the difference."

I'm a professional trainer by trade, and the concept of having the will to prepare, to give the necessary effort and attention to hone one's skills is about as close to "THE" truth as I've ever heard.

It's similar to the adage about a boxer having become a champion while training and his victory in the ring just being a manifestation of his "champion-ness".

(from BE's "words" page: "Don’t allow greed to undermine the manifestation of our capacity, which is the product of our individual training." So, the product of our individual training manifests our "capacity"? Am I understanding that?)

So, the "mental game" then, to me, becomes a matter of what motivates and continues to engage one in the preparation process.

The will to train or prepare precedes the will to win or excell.

Dr. John Eliot in, "Overachievement", proposes that through effort and repetition one can create mental habits that transform who we are into what we do and what we do into artfulness.

Edited by doc540

Doc, I always enjoy your insights.

As a trainer, do you find that there is a different source of motivation for the team oriented individual than for the lone competitor?

The team player must rely upon her\his ability to interact and communicate at a very high level with others in order to win. When competing solo, we have only the challenge of directing our own actions. There are interesting dynamics in both situations. I would enjoy it very much if you could elaborate on any differences you can think of.

Best, -Sam

(from BE's "words" page: "Don’t allow greed to undermine the manifestation of our capacity, which is the product of our individual training." So, the product of our individual training manifests our "capacity"? Am I understanding that?)