Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Electronics In Idpa Cof

Hot Brass

I've had a number of people ask me about how we use electronics in our IDPA stages and so I finally got around to shooting some video. The link below will take you to a blog where they can be found. There are a number of 2-3 min screen cam videos that discuss the motivation for using electronics, as well as the challenges associated with them. The last two videos are longer and show the electronics in action. I'm a rookie with this video stuff so keep that in mind...

Hopfully, this information will inspire some of you guys, who are doing similar things, to share what you are doing with the rest of us. I would love to see other examples of how other IDPA clubs are using technology to improve the realistic quality of their matches.

http://www.gadpa.com/blogs/weblog/archive/...DPA-stages.aspx

-Capel

Interesting.

I forwarded this post to Randy Allen, whose PLC-driven "Allen Actuators" have been used in TX state matches.

It really does make it much more interesting to have a swinger or mover that doesn't display a predictable back-and-forth motion.

Also to Ken Reed, who's designed some interesting movers (although I don't think Ken is using PLCs)

Edited by Jane

PLC's (Programmable Logic Controllers) are the heart of all industrial automation today. Many manufacturers produce PLC’s. Most electrical supply houses carry PLC's from one manufacturer or another. "Brick" style PLC's such as the one in the video are very inexpensive (sometimes less than $100).

Electrical actuators can be found in many forms. Simple solenoid types provide fast, short, linear motion for things such as activating a gravity mover or unlocking a door. TO move a target a few feet, a screw or belt driven actuator can be used. Simple actuators for the non-precise motion we are talking about here can range from $5 for a solenoid to $750 for a ball screw linear actuator.