Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is this a good deal?

HawkMoney

I am just getting into shooting open and I'm Thinking about buying this old 38 super open gun from a guy locally. He wants $1800 for the whole package. Obviously it's a little dated. But the details are:

Hard chrome

sti frame

accurailed

caspian slide

egw barrel and comp

egw trigger parts

red buff scope mount.

would this be a good purchase to get started in open? Decent price?

Thanks for the help!

-Ivan 

IMG_5340.JPG

IMG_5341.JPG

IMG_5342.JPG

Edited by HawkMoney

Do you know who built it and round count

looking at the pictures it looks like an old EGW gun, the fact that it's a super should not be a deal breaker if you get your brass back at your local matches

Seems like a decent deal. Email EGW with the pics. I am sure George would be more than willing to let you know if he built it or Jim Milks did when he was there. I am at EGW alot and George is always willing to help. I don't think he build many guns on 2011 frames, but he would know best.

You can always re-barrel it, reuse the comp, then just have barrel fit by a competent gun smith. A KKM barrel would be under $200, plus maybe another $150-250 for fitting the barrel. Either way you could shot it for a while as a super and decide if you like open ans not have alot of money invested.

Good luck.

it looks like it may be a cone comp.

interesting gun. my only concern would be slide as those cuts basically go right across the top with little meat left in the middle. 

otherwise it's a 2011 with a decent comp and accurails. not much has really changed in 2011's since the 90s. a few small parts and niceties but nothing major. no reason it couldn't be a competitive gun.

I agree I'd suggest see if you can handle it and shoot it before deciding. I think it's pretty good value. 

Egw built solid guns back in the day, I've seen a few and they were all top notch