Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Limited gun request advice

pc13

I currently own and shoot a Para Pro Custom .40 cal in USPSA limited division.  I am looking for a new gun cause I have a little cash to spend. I've been looking at the STI DVC limited in 40 cal and the STI Edge, but it's hard to choose.  Is there really that much difference in quality and the way a DVC or Edge shoots over the Para Pro Custom?  It's not that my Para Pro Custom is a bad gun I'm just looking to upgrade or am I just wasting my money on a new limited gun.  What gun would you guys buy for limited division?  Glock 34 is out because I'm looking for a metal or heavy gun. I've been shooting USPSA for about 2 years now.  Any advise would be great!! or should I order a new CZ Shadow 2 and just shoot Production Division and the leave Limited to my Para?

The first question that I would ask is... do you want to stay in Limited and invest yourself there or do you want to switch to Production?

If you are set on staying in Limited and you want the DVC, would you want to take the full bit and get what want and spend an extra 40%ish, or are you willing to settle for the Edge and spend the remaining cash on mags and gear for your new system?

I haven't shot either, so I can't offer any help there. If you know someone local that has an STI, see if they will let you give it a spin.

I think you would be frustrated will all the mag changes in Production, so I'd stick with Limited.  Your Para is already plenty heavy and probably a tad heavier than the DVC or Edge. You might have more magazine options with the STIs though.

I think the DVC is a great looking pistol, but it will probably shoot about the same as the Edge.  In fact, it really is just a doll'ed up Edge anyway.  If you stick with a polymer grip, you should be able to get a custom gun built by several smiths the days.  Look at Shooters Connection.  They have lots of CKcustom guns in stock.