Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass for 9 major

wTEXgunner

I'm new to reloading and new to 9 major. I have a quick question, how specific is 9mm brass needed in reloading for 9 major? 

I think I've read somewhere that you can't reuse 9 major brass as often and some say because of the pressure the wouldn't reuse it at all. 

I've also just stumbled across +P brass which I didn't even know was a thing. 

Should I stick with only new brass, once fired brass, processed range brass or +P brass? 

I don't shoot 9mj, so...but people do reload 9mj brass more than once for sure...from what I hear, many reload it until the primer pocket gets loose. I would definitely use range brass (once fired, etc.) and cull out any that look suspicious. 

I use mixed range pickup brass to load 9 major without issue, once my ammo boxed are full I just run my finger over the head stamps pulling out stepped brass to be used in practice.  IMT, FM, and ammoload all feature a step where the brass sometimes separates.

Also, I tumble my loaded rounds to sort out loose primer pockets.  My 9 major brass was always in better shape than my 38 super because it never gets loaded more than a few times before I lose it.

When I go to a match with mostly reloaders I let them have all the brass, I only pick up brass in my indoor range where most customers are shooting factory ammo, that way my brass is usually in it's second to third loading.

31 minutes ago, echotango said:

I load it until it's lost or splits. Also trash all stepped brass. 

Same here. I have loaded some of my brass at least one million times.

OK, 10 times anyway. :)

3 hours ago, wTEXgunner said:

Should I stick with only new brass

It is essential to discard ALL 1x fired 9mm Major brass -

pls place it in a USPS mailer box, and I'll send you

my mailing address.

I'll be happy to discard it  ALL  for you    :P

Just as soon as I've reloaded it for the millionth time.