Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dry fire. A complete newbe needs tips

calebj06

Ok so I've been looking all around on this site. Reading a lot and trying to learn. I will admit that I'm a complete newbe at competition shooting. 

So so far I've shot one local match and will shoot my first uspsa match in 2 weeks. 

Dry fire practice is completely foreign to me!  I see a lot said about it here but I have NO IDEA where to even start!!  

So so can someone break it down to me from the very beginning?  

Am am I best to get a book to start with?

Ive looked over Ben stoeger's site and looked at some of his drills and see he has some book that might be helpful. 

Im just not sure where to start at for a complete beginner! 

Do do I need a timer? Which one? What do I even use it for? HOW do I use it?! Lol. 

Do I need to buy uspsa targets or can I just cut some cardboard? 

I just just have no idea where to start. I don't wanna start the wrong way and ingrain bad habits.

Thanks

caleb 

Edited by calebj06

So much to say, so little time.  Anything with Ben Stoger's name on it, will probably be a safe purchase.  You don't have to have books to  direct your dry fire, but it will give you direction and save you time in the long run.  My preference for dry fire targets is to buy them in sets from the companies that make them.  Although, you can certainly use your printer and paper to print scaled targets.

Initially, you won't need a timer, but you will eventually, so you might as well go ahead and get one.  

Start slowly and make it your mission to practice with perfect form.  For me, the most important thing about dry fire is to have adequate light to really SEE your front sight.