Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hiccup in cycle making powder jump - noob on xl650 (bought slightly used)

Hello there.  Noob here.  On the back/up stroke there's a little catch or hiccup that makes the powder hop and causing some powder loss.  Measures right oal, powder checks to within +/- .10 (not good-powder hop loss?), case and barrel gauges well it seems.  Any ideas?

Also, with case lube; used 2 sprays into a ziploc bag with all cases laying down (about 200).  Rolled em around.  Let em sit for bout 20 mins, then let em sit in case feeder for 20 more minutes.  Got powder sticking in cases pretty good.  

Working up a 9mm load with berry's plated 115 and 4.3 winchester 231 to an oal of 1.12 using cci spp in picked up range brass that's been tumbled.

Thanks all!

RelaodingResized.jpg

Had this same issue for a long while and tried every suggestion without any luck. Finally switched back to my Dillion resizing die an adjusted it all the way down as far as possible. It's amazing how critical a few thousands can eliminate such a big problem. It's been working as smooth as silk ever since. Hopefully this can help your problem. Good luck!

Is the powder spilling when the shell plate holder rotates? If so, it's a common problem with 650's and there are a lot of posts on that particular problem and the solution(s). Or is the powder spilling when the case is going up like in JD509's case?

A powder charge within =/- .1 grain is as good as your scale can weigh. Try tightening the shellplate bolt a tiny bit more. This reduces the jolt from the detent ball locating the shellplate.

Sounds like you may be wet tumbling your cases with pins and the powder funnel is sticking in the case.

Over cleaning cases can cause issues.

New cases can have the same issue if not dry tumbled a bit first in corn cob or walnut shell etc..

Edited by TDA