Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What low hanging fruit do I have, to get faster?

bsand

Well I've been shooting USPSA since November, totally loving the run and gun part.
I'm fairly new to pistols, as I spent the previous year shooting mostly bolt guns for PRS.

I'm hoping to classify as a high C or low B by the summer. I feel that my shooting has been constantly getting better, last match I had 76% alphas vs 69% alphas, Charlie's went from 30% to 18.5% at my last match.

I don't have any footage form my last match on Sunday, but have some from match before that. Would have had a 8.8262 HF on classifier, but messed up Virgina count, ended up at 5.2956 due to penalties. On the 'can you count' classifier.

What can I change/do to get faster and more accurate?

First match with Carry optics (3rd match with the shadow, 5th USPSA match ever)

Just for laughs, first match with shadow 3rd match over all

Edited by bsand
Fixed video embeds

Thanks, yeah that was due to using factory federal aluminum cased ammo. Not the first or only time that ammos given me troubles. Other Malfunction of that match was a stove pipe, which turned into a double feed. Took me a full second to figure out what was going on. As I had cleared the stove pipe, but caused a double feed while clearing the first malfunction.

Luckily I've now found a recipe for 100% reliability from my own reloads. Shot a match with the ammo on Sunday, not a single malfunction :)

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Do you have a dry fire program?

I recommend that you purchase the Ben Stoeger Dry Fire Reloaded book and begin a diligent dry fire schedule.

He also has a good book on technique called Practical Pistol Reloaded.

The combo of those two books will give you a solid foundation on which to start your shooting career the right way.

No I do not have a dry fire program. Mostly all ive done for dry fire is, drawing from holster and basically pulling the trigger so the sights don't move.