Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mark 7 vs Ammobot

There are some pretty significant advantages with the MK 7.  The biggest being the sensors are actually available.  With the MK 7 the clutch is adjustable on the fly and you can install software and firmware updates in about 3 minutes when new features are added.  

I have no experience with the Ammobot.  I do own  a M7 and I'm beyond impressed with it.  I recently had a sensor fail, I called, talked to a real person, and they shipped a free replacement out same day.  Couldn't ask for a better company to deal with.

I've not done a side-side comparison, but I have been very happy with my AmmoBot, and especially the customer service.  I like having the handle available so I can easily clear jams, or run a few loads through manually if working up a load, etc. 

I've got both (LTE).  Just getting started with the LTE.

The Ammobot will crank out ammo for you.  It's a good value, especially when they run a sale.  I like it.

I thought I would miss the handle on the Mark VII, especially with the limited LTE interface.  Nope.

If you like the interface and sensor support of the Mark VII and can afford it, get it.  If money is a factor, get the ammobot.  if you want a mark vii but don't want to spend that much and will always look at your ammobot as something you got because you didn't want to invest to the mark vii level, get the LTE.  You can upgrade it later if you want.

• 1 month later...

from 2016, by aceinyerface:

"After 4 months of using the Ammobot I had a few things that I did not care for.

It turns out that you have to sit with the kill switch in your hand and watch the shell plate.

They don’t exactly advertise this, but if you contact them they make it clear that it is in the owner’s manual and you need to follow those instructions.