Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Eagle vs. STI Edge

Gomar83

I am new to shooting USPSA Limited I am currently using a S&W M&P 40. I am looking for advice on the pro's and con's of the Edge vs. the Eagle (5.0 or 6.0) in .40 cal. I like to do my home work before investing and would greatly appreciate your advice.

i really like the eagle especially the 6.0 but they are hard to find used, and I'm not curtain what the wait time is on a new. i wish the eagle had adj. rear sight and fiber rod front from the factory. i know these can be changed.

Eagle is most commonly a bushing barrel, but available in a bull barrel (usually the bushing barrels are listed as 5.0, whilst the bull barrel models are listed as a 5.1).

Edge is bull barrel only.

The Eagle in bushing barrel is legal for IDPA - Edge or bull barreled Eagle is not.

All has to do with front weight.  A bull barreled gun will have a little more weight up front to tame recoil.  A long dust cover will have a little more again.  If I was buying new I'd pick an Edge every time, though I wouldn't feel too bad off with a bull barreled Eagle.  If it was a bushing barrel model though I'd personally pass on it.  

The 5 inch Edge is the standard for USPSA and will probably have a better resale value. You may want to consider CK Arms Thunder, better internal parts and finish in my opinion.

i would only buy a pistol with Bomar style rear sight and fiber optic front. Visit a local match and discuss with owners of both, you will see way more Edge models than Eagles.

My choice was an Eagle in .45 for Limited 10 and 3 gun. Since I can get 17 rounds in a MBX mag, it has proven useful on plate racks and the nemesis of my shooting life, the spinner. I prefer the weight distribution the Eagle has. Certainly you will need the F/O front sight and a good magwell.