Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Glock 34 9mm open major using 147's until I get a 2011

Part_time_redneck

Good day all,

First let me apologize for my mistakes using this forum. This is my first time posting so please bear with me. I am just hoping for a little information / opinions and the vast majority of people here seem very well informed and eager to help.

I began shooting USPSA / SC with a Glock 34. It was fun at first but now I am completely addicted. For SC I also built a rim fire open pistol and then a rifle. I enjoyed the pistol so much I decided to move into open with my Glock to get my feet wet before purchasing a 2011 style gun. Have only ran factory loads thus far but as is always, I want more ( major PF ). I have 115g ( for minor ) & 124g MG JHP's, new starline brass ( for major ) & 1 lb each of WAC, 3N37, & 3N38. My plan was to experiment to find a good minor load for steel then see how brave I feel about tackling major. However plans change. The more I look through these forums, the more leery and concerned I grow about loading 9 for major. 

So, right now Glock 34 9 with Lone Wolf SS barrel, Jäger 4 port comp, 11 lb recoil spring. Currently running Fiocchi 115g FMJ, chronos at AV of 1200 fps. Gun runs 99.5%. Every 200 rds or so 1 FTE. ( Naturally always in the middle of a stage ). VV list one published load I can find that makes major. 147g Hornady HP with 3N38. 6.3 = 1171 fps Max is 6.9 = 1207  

While I understand this load would be nowhere near optimal, would it be a decent / safe temporary alternative until I procure my next open gun? My reasoning is that now with the 115 factory ammo the comp is not being utilized enough and even with the 147, the 3N38 would help the compensator work. Also, working with published load data seems like it would make it less nerve wracking to break a shot. Even the low end with the 147 makes 172 PF.