Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My switch from plastic to Tanfo

I thought it could be interesting to document my journey from plastic gun shooter over to the Tanfoglio Stock 3. I would have loved to find something like this when considering the switch.

After some admittedly sporadic dryfire, a Dawson front sight, and silicon carbide treatment on the grips, it was time to take the 10.5/5.0 lb trigger to the range.

Despite the flared magwell on the bottom of the gun, this is a hard gun to reload. The mag opening is larger, but so is the magazine. The G34 I shot from 2006-09 and the M&P from 2009-16 are simply much easier to load. (Think metal sliding across a polymer cutting board, versus metal dragging on metal.)

It's accurate. A 3" group at 25yds was a rather casual affair, and I'm no bullseye expert. I don't feel like I have to work as hard to shoot tight groups, but it's likely just that the gun feels smoother and more solid.

The trigger... I didn't think DA would be a change, but it is. A big one. The thing that's new is that you begin working the action right at the beginning. With a Glock or M&P you quickly delete 2/3s of the travel by pulling through the pretravel, and then beginning your real trigger press when you work the connector or sear.

With a hammer gun, the whole pull is work. What that means is that I'm working the trigger before I acquire a sight picture - just a bit, but it's happening and that is new. The weight isn't the issue, it's the length of the pull.

(Ben Stoeger was definitely right that you need to pull through the trigger, and not "stop and snatch" in an attempt to trap the sight picture.

SA isn't a problem so far for me, as long as I'm expecting it. I shanked 3 or 4 follow-ups shots low on the transition from DA to SA, which means practicing in live fire every chance I get.

The gun is fat and heavy and the buttons are in all the wrong places. But I can already tell it'll be a fast sexy machine once I'm used to it!