Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Johnbu's range diary

johnbu

Hi,

Introductions...I've been shooting guns for 45+ years, but only plinking, varments and some deer hunting.  Couple years ago started informal steel challenge (with my son) and last year were our first 2 official steel matches. Last year my son also started on a scholastic shooting sports pistol team.  This year we joined uspsa and started shooting that too.  Son is "casual" ... meaning he doesn't dry fire, where I try to dry fire 3+ days a week.   Oddly, I chose tanfo platform before even getting into the casual steel shooting, didn't know it was the "cool gun" to have. In fact, I hadn't even heard of uspsa, anything about it or anyone involved in it until last year.  so, I really am an old geezer newbee. Wierd, eh?

First uspsa match was this April in the cold. 20 mph steady wind and it might have reached 40F. That was 6 stages of classifiers. Both of us came in low 40's for an initial C. 

For some reason classifiers freak me out. I've only had one "decent" run since and have zeroed or been lower than current average on the rest. 

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ok, intros out of the way....

Have been working on moving and shooting while dry firing for the past 6 weeks.  gun is bouncing around, etc... not feeling overly good about it. Today I decided to "test" shooting on the move VS running to position and shooting.  set a spot as the start, and a box about 7-8 yards diagonally to the front and left of that. Three metric targets about 8-10 yards from that.   so, in other words, from the start position, I ran about 7 yards diagonally front and left then engaged 3 targets. First target was a partial w a 45 degree no shoot across it, then 10' to the left a full open target and to the left of that 10' another target.