Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lee Precision Classic Turret Press

I'm brand new to reloading and going back and forth on what to get. I was looking at a single stage like the Rockchucker or a progressive like the Dillon 550. Being new, I didn't want to go straight to a progressive, or at least was advised not to. Then I found the Lee Classic Turret Kit which looks like a good compromise, any thoughts here? Once again, I've never reloaded except shotgun shells for my dad when I was a kid. Will load primarily 45 acp, 45 colt, 308 and 6.5 cm, thanks in advance

I like my Classic Turret and have loaded 18K rounds on it over the last two years. It's a great way to start; only one thing is happening at a time so it's easier to learn and make reliable ammo, but once you've got it dialed in, you're still capable of making 200+ rounds an hour. Plus, it's affordable.

At this point, I wouldn't say no to a Dillon progressive (it'd be nice to sit down and bang out 500 rounds in an hour), but I haven't yet pulled the trigger on an upgrade. 

Good luck with whatever you decide.

A 550 is pretty close to a turret press as you have to turn the plate by hand each time you pull the handle. It is not by definition a progressive press like the other Dillon presses. Pretty good press but if cost is an issue you would be fine with the LEE turret

1 hour ago, Sarge said:

A 550 is pretty close to a turret press as you have to turn the plate by hand each time you pull the handle. It is not by definition a progressive press like the other Dillon presses. Pretty good press but if cost is an issue you would be fine with the LEE turret

550. 4 pulls = 4 completed rounds

turret 4 pulls= 1 completed round

id say that's pretty significant

2 hours ago, Garmil said:

550. 4 pulls = 4 completed rounds

turret 4 pulls= 1 completed round

id say that's pretty significant